Iceland, expect the unexpected.

Iceland is a very interesting country…. to say the least.  The land of Fire and Ice….volcanoes and glaciers.  An island of otherworldly landscapes with hot springs neighboring waterfalls.  The home of tough Vikings like Leif Eriksson and quirky musicians like Bjӧrk.  A nation with hidden people under bridges and very noticable people towering 6ft tall around town (trust me as a 5’2″ girl wearing flats, it didn’t go unnoticed) .  The nation who claims to have originated the modern Parliament, yet currently experiences nepotism and bankruptcy.  A place where if you are related to your boyfriend 7 generations back, go ahead and get married or have a kid because that’s the furthest relation you will find in the dating pool… (Yes, that is a true story from one of my guides! )

Nothing really makes sense here.

…so maybe I shouldn’t have been so surprised that I got Wifi almost everywhere! And by everywhere, I mean EVERYWHERE!

I landed at the airport. Free wifi.

I hopped on the bus to the Blue Lagoon. Free wifi!

I sat at the café in the Blue Lagoon. Free wifi.

I stood outside the basecamp of a VOLCANO. Free wifi!!!

Mindblowing, huh?

IMG_0309 IMG_0423

Perhaps it is the islander mindset of Icelanders to not want to feel isolated.  I mean, the country only has a little over 300,000 citizens and lies just below the Arctic Circle.  Maybe having wifi everywhere makes them feel more connected to the world?

So do not fear fellow international travelers without phone service, businessmen/women on long layovers, social media addicts, and bloggers…you will have your comfort of internet in Iceland!  It truly is the world-wide-web.

Leave a comment